Discipline?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LumLumPop

Reaction score
I'm a first time rabbit owner(I have two males one is neutered the other is pending)their names are Lewis(a Dutch)and Clark(a Satin). Both of my boys are very well behaved but every now and then they get into mischief. Since this is my first time I don't know how to correctly discipline them. Whenever one accidentally bites me I usually just say "Ow!" Really loudly(then they usually lick the spot where they accidentally bit me XD). Whenever they get into something(IE: chewing a book or cord,destroying my carpet) I either clap my hands and they stop or I hold their head down and firmly say no. Am I doing the right things? I don't want to harm them. I've had them since mid April.

Not sure if this helps but they're kept separate until Lewis is mature enough to get neutered.

That sounds about right to me. I do the same things. If they're destroying your carpet, then I would suggest that you cover it with cardboard or a tile, so they can't get to the carpet anymore.
Also, make a preemptive strike against disciplinary issues. Like, if the carpet is an issue cover it. If the they're chewing on your furniture, rub some ivory soap on it(just the plain white bar), make sure the cords are up or the books. Its all about trial and error with finding out what they can and will get into.
But the discipline stuff sounds about right for what they're doing.

When Ellie gets into something she shouldn't, I make a loud noise then shoo her away from whatever it is, then give her something that she can have. Like if she's trying to harm my rug, I push her away then give her a toilet paper tube. Things like that.