A few questions

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kimijean

Reaction score
Hi all,

So I have a few question seeing as how I’m very new to bunnies as house pets. My introduction is here if you haven’t read it yet.:

http://rabbitsonline.net/view_topic.php?id=75610&forum_id=26

1) Piper is about 1.5 years old and is not spayed. I read that the 2 main reasons to do this is a) because an altered bunny is usually friendlier and b) you have better luck litter box training them. She is a super sweet bunny but I’m leaning towards having it done in hopes of litter box training her. Any thoughts/ideas regarding this? Searching the forum on this as well.

2) Should I or should I not consider getting a second bunny? She has been an only bunny since she was purchased but I work full time, does she need the company of another bunny? I’m reading about it in other threads on the forum but figured I would ask anyway.

3) How often and how much do I feed her? Some say have hay available at all times and a small amount of pellets once a day. What about other things? What kind of other things? Again, I’m reading all I can find.

Thank you in advance for all your help.

Kim

welcome to RO! :)

actually, the main reason to spay is that unspayed females have, on average, half the lifespan because they're VERY prone to nasty cancers of the reproductive system if they aren't spayed.

we have a nice library of rabbit-savvy vets that may help you find the right one - http://rabbitsonline.net/view_forum.php?id=9

I would definitely consider a second bunny - most bunns are happier if they have a friend. before your bunny can have a friend, you'll need to get her spayed and then wait a few weeks for the hormones to be totally out of her system.